Teaching Independence

I am coming to realize that Mason is really dependent on me and needs to learn some independence. It probably doesn’t help he’s the only child and he has always been with me even when I go to work. School has really been a good thing for him this year.
He does have some independence but probably should have more at this age. A lot of times he won’t get dressed unless I help him even though he is 100% able to do on his own. About 90% of the time he won’t do any kind of playing by himself without me and when I’m not playing with him he wants to watch tv/play video games.
I found these two good articles about how to teach your child independence if their are any other parents/children that could use the help. http://www.parents.com/toddlers-preschoolers/development/behavioral/teaching-independence/  http://www.wahm.com/articles/how-to-teach-your-child-to-be-independent.html
Parenting is hard ;) He’s my baby boy and always will be but I just need to take a step back and let him grow up!
Sheltering and helping your children too much have its consequences. Maybe it’s time for you to loosen up a little bit and encourage them to stand on their own.” 

Leave a Reply

