Your Guide to Family Sun Protection

from Coppertone and me!

No, I’m not going to lecture you on sun protection for you and your family, just a few tips/facts :)
Yes, I used to be that teenager outside trying to get tanner but since having a kid things have changed. And even more so since my own mother ended up getting melanoma(skin cancer) on her face this last spring. 
I love being that mom who always has sunscreen in her purse. I may not have protected my own skin when I was younger but I am from this day on. And remember not to be afraid of the sun, the sunshine is a great source of vitamin D and us Washingtonians need all the vitamin D we can get. Just remember to use protection!
UV rays are present year-round but strongest during the late spring and early summer.
About 80% of the sun’s rays can penetrate clouds on an overcast day.
A white t-shirt typically has an SPF of about seven when dry and about three when wet.
It can take 12 hours or more for a sunburn to fully develop.
Just one blistering sunburn in childhood can increase the chance of developing skin cancer later in life.
Darker-skinned individuals, such as African Americans and Hispanics, are also vulnerable to UV rays.
Remember to apply sunscreen every 2 hours and/or after swimming, sweating or towel drying.
Test out the shadow rule with your kids on a sunny day (if your shadow is shorter than you are tall, UV rays are particularly strong and you should try to head for the shade).
Visit Coppertone.com for more info…
Thank you Coppertone for allowing me to be apart of your awesome Coppertone Water Moms group and allowing me to share my love of sun protection with everyone. I was not compensated in anyway, Coppertone provided me with sample products, all opinions expressed here are my own.
One comment

Leave a Reply

