The dreadful dentist

This is the story how Mason became terrified of the dentist, who he has been seeing the past 5 years.
Let me just start off by saying he absolutely loved going to the dentist and sat still in the chair by himself since he was a baby. We love the office and really like the ladies that work there, and our only complaints were they are always behind(at the least a 15 minute wait) and the dentist over books herself and usually only spends 2 minutes with each patient.

We went in last week to get two “spots” removed. Usually they have the parent sit outside the room but they let me stay in with him and I’m so glad I was in the room. It was going smooth up until they gave him the shot in one side, he started squirming(just a little I will add) and would not let them go back in his mouth. The dentist was EXTREMELY harsh on him for not holding completely still. Yes, I know it is very dangerous but seriously the kid was hardly moving and it seemed like she had NO experience talking to children. We sat there for a few minutes to see if he would relax and let them go back in his mouth, but they had hygienist in and out getting stuff from the cupboards in the room, so relaxing was not working. I almost think she was so over booked that she didn’t have the time to try and convenience him to let them get the work done.
The dentist literally told him “you cannot have a toy or popsicle” and the poor kid was just crying through the whole experience. It was horrible.

So, I posted something on my facebook about it and got many responses. A bunch with horrible experiences with her as well. Even had someone guess who I was talking about and said she went to the same dentist as a child and she was very mean. I just couldn’t believe it and felt so bad for Mason.

Yesterday, Mason went to a new dentist. No wait, pretty much had the place to ourselves. But Mason was pretty scared. They got him to sit in the chair and were able to look in his mouth but once they pulled out instruments he freaked.
So, in a couple weeks we get to take him to the hospital to get anesthesia, xrays and get the cavities worked on. Thank you Dr ……  for scarring my kid!!


I’m hoping he will get over the fear of the dentist in time. When we left the new dentist office with his toy in hand said “they are so kind for the toy”!

If you like what you just read please click to send a quick vote for me on Top Mommy Blogs- The best mommy blog directory featuring top mom bloggers
4 comments

  1. Oh no this could scar him for life and I am not joking or making fun in any way as a child I had a similar experience I have restricted jaw movement always have had, that means I can only open my mouth a very little bit and I know it is hard for the dentist but still back to the point when I was a child I had a dentist that really upset me and cause me to be scared of the dentist and it wasn't till I was an adult and really had to go to the dentist that I willingly went back. As a child my mum had a task and a half to get me to the dentist after my experience with that woman

  2. Oh that is SO sad! If a dentist doesn't want to "put up" with children, they should not accept them as patients. Makes life SO much easier on everyone! How old was he when you first took him to the dentist?

  3. Yeah, I'm really hoping it doesn't scar him for life :( I can't believe this woman still has so many patients, its sad. And can't believe we have to go throw a huge ordeal, the hospital for anesthesia for xrays!! Geez…

  4. Yeah, I agree! And the sad thing is she is a pediatric dentist and has quite a bit of patients, and so many horror stories from a lot of people. It's sad she's still in business! He started going at 11 months old, so the past 5 years and never had any issues, loved going to the dentist!! :(

Leave a Reply

