Teenage years

This post will probably surprise some of you who didn’t know me in my teenage years and met me when I finally matured ;)

So… my teenage years hit pretty hard, and I feel SO(can’t make that big enough) sorry I put my parents through all those years. And I pray Mason isn’t as bad as I was :(

Like I’ve said before I used to skateboard and it was an awesome part of my life but I loved it so much I choose to skip too much school and sometimes hung out with the wrong people. When I was 16 I started partying with my friends, nothing wrong with those friends just our choices we made. Every weekend we were out drinking and going to parties. Some nights I wouldn’t go home and just stayed at friends house, not calling my parents, some nights I would miss curfew and ignore my parents calls. Now, I just can’t imagine the thoughts running through their heads what could of happened and now I completely believe it when they said they couldn’t sleep. I AM SO SORRY MOM AND DAD!!

The drinking and driving. I don’t even know how I did it, but I’d make it home in one piece not ever an accident or getting pulled over. I definitely had someone watching over me! Stupid and young.

Then one summer my parents kicked me out and I went to live in Spokane with my grandparents. I truly believe that was my turning point; they were hardcore church people, I didn’t know anyone, I got a job at a hotel, had to ride the bus everywhere, the only place I went to for fun was the library. By the end of summer I was back home and making better choices.

So parents, if you have a “troubled” teen don’t blame yourself, pray that it’s just a faze and it’ll be over quickly without anyone getting hurt. Offer to drive/pick them up whenever, but they will most likely decline your offer. They believe they are adults and need to learn things on their own, no matter how much we all know they are still children. Have hope!

And teens, my biggest advice and the two things I hope you’ll take out of this is; take up your parents offer to drive/pick you up from parties, YES they know there is alcohol and yes they probably will give you a lecture but wouldn’t you rather be getting that lecture from them in the car and not in a jail cell or in a coffin? Secondly, don’t ignore your parents call, they know you are out partying and drinking, they just want to hear your voice that you are okay and not in a ditch.

I had amazing parents who cared, even when I didn’t want them to care. Who offered to drive/pick me up whenever. Thank you Mom and Dad for being there for me and never giving up, even though I caused you so much trouble and heartache.

3 comments

  1. You did give us a lot of heart ache, we did pray alot for you….But look at the person you have become….We love you more then words can say….Mom

Leave a Reply

